The US Thoroughbred Horse Racing

by Harsh19. May 2013 13:49

Yesterday (May 18, 2013), I watched Preakness Thoroughbred Horse Race on the TV. This is the second leg of the Triple Crown of US Thoroughbred Horse Racing (THR) - one of the big sporting event in USA. The three legs are:


1. Kentucky Derby - held in Louisville, Kentucky

2. Preakness - held in Baltimore, Maryland

3. Belmont Stakes - held in Belmont Park, New York


The horse that wins all three races is known as the Triple Crown Winner. The last time there was a Triple Crown winner was in 1978! Since I came to USA (1969), there have been three Triple Crown Winners:


1. Secretariat in 1973

2. Seattle Slew in 1977

3. Affirmed in 1978


The THR season starts around May every year. The horse that wins the Kentucky Derby becomes a hopeful for the Triple Crown. This year, the horse names Orb won the first leg. So, he was a favorite to win the Preakness (the second leg). But as the saying goes "the show is not over till the fat lady sings", it was not to be. So, there will not be a Triple Crown this year also. The drought continues. The horse that won is Oxbow. 


Belmont Stakes will run on June 8. I plan to watch it also.


It is my hope that there would be one more Triple Crown in my lifetime!


Harsh Pande

Kalamazoo, Michigan



Add comment

  Country flag

  • Comment
  • Preview

About the Author

Topogroup Members

Month List